16
Sep
16

to the angel of the church in Smyrna


The words of the first and the last, who died and came to life.

smyrna

Do not fear any of those things which you are about to suffer. Indeed, the devil is about to throw some of you into prison, that you may be tested, and you will have tribulation ten days. Be faithful until death, and I will give you the crown of life.

“He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. He who overcomes shall not be hurt by the second death.”’

Revelation 2

_______________

See also: Isaiah 44:6 and Revelation 12:13;

5 Responses to “to the angel of the church in Smyrna”


  1. 1 Marleen
    September 19, 2016 at 3:43 am

    Important to notice the terminology “conquer” in the context of suffering and possibly going to prison, and possibly dying. It’s not about turning around and killing. Being faithful is conquering.

  2. September 19, 2016 at 11:37 am

    The ESV that I initially used in the quote doesn’t give the best translation in this case.
    I’ll replace it with the NKJV that uses a more appropriate reference to overcoming instead of conquering.

  3. 3 Marleen
    September 20, 2016 at 1:56 pm

    I didn’t mean it that way. I thought it was fine. I would say the same thing with the word “overcoming.” It’s like talking about winning, but in a way that tells people being faithful is winning even if it might look or feel like losing. I think we get the point from the context and the overall context of Jesus’/Isa’s/Yeshua’s life. (I don’t think I mean a person can’t ever defend him-or-herself or that a group of people can’t stand up for themselves; I just mean God isn’t saying to go dominate and destroy because you have to “win.”)

    So, what does it mean to have an ear to hear the Spirit? (If I were going to complain about a word, it would be “churches” by the way.) What does it mean to be faithful and tested and overcome? People mean all kinds of things by it. It means to do what some preacher or political bunch says. It means whatever. But it was said during a time that Rome took over everything. It seems to me this is why we are to hear the word conquer or overcome in a way that is different, that is from the Holy Spirit.

  4. 4 Marleen
    September 20, 2016 at 2:36 pm

    I should have the word “to” before “overcome” in the question sentence in the second paragraph. The way I did it doesn’t look like what I mean. I don’t mean “be faithful and tested and overcome.” Because that looks like being overcome is the goal, or a goal along with faithful and tested — maybe some people like to be overcome or talk about being overcome, and sometimes that might make sense (in a different context), and sometimes it doesn’t. But here, I meant “to BE faithful and tested and TO OVERCOME.”

  5. 5 Marleen
    October 4, 2016 at 5:32 pm

    I very much like this variation on your art, by the way. Yeshua the Nazoraean.


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 70,322 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 231 other followers


