18
Apr
16

Martyrdom of a Friend: in the news again.


Several years ago I posted an article on my old blog about a friend of mine who had been martyred while visiting a jail in the Philippines.

Even though it happened almost 27 years ago, this morning it was in the news again, thanks to disturbing comments made by a current candidate for the Philippine presidency.

What does it say about the world when vulgarity and misogyny can be seen as traits worthy of a nation’s leader? It’s clearly a trend NOT unique to a particular candidate hoping to be the Republican candidate in the US.

If I hadn’t seen a story on the news this morning I couldn’t have understood why my old article on a mostly inactive blog, could accumulate 300 views in one day.

See may article here: http://onefiles.blogspot.com.au/2009/08/martyrdom-of-friend.html

And why it has suddenly become news again here:

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/apr/17/philippines-presidential-candidate-attacked-over-remarks

5 Responses to “Martyrdom of a Friend: in the news again.”


  1. April 18, 2016 at 1:40 pm

    Onesimus, reading about Jacqui has brought tears to my eyes. Do you know of anywhere where I could find out more information her life? I would like to do an article on her.

  2. April 18, 2016 at 2:10 pm

    Hi Cheryl, I collected news articles written at the time, but after moving house a few times I haven’t been able to find them. The only thing I still have is a copy of an old magazine called “On Being” that has an article about her.

    I met her through Vision Ministries. She was a student at their Bible College in the early-mid 80s. They held weekly meetings on Saturday nights at their property near Parramatta and I’d often take along a car full of friends from Wollongong. Jacqui always made us all feel very welcome.
    If you contact Vision Ministries (now in Parkes), Harry and Doreen Westcott might have some helpful recollections of Jacqui they could share.

    The last time I saw her in person was when Vision Ministries hosted TL and Daisy Osborne at a sports auditorium at Homebush, on the site of what became the Sydney Olympic park; then I saw her again on TV, being herded outside with fellow hostages at the Philippine jail, not long before she was killed.

  3. April 18, 2016 at 3:03 pm

    Thanks Onesimus. I remember the old On Being magazines by the way!

  4. April 18, 2016 at 3:13 pm

    They once published an article of mine and I wrote a few book reviews for them.
    My first tastes of “success” as a writer. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 73,883 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 236 other followers


