01
Oct
15

Article by Tricia Tillin: “Nailing My Rapture Colours To The Mast”


The majority of the long article at the link below addresses the subject of “the rapture” but I think it has value beyond that single topic. It also looks into the wider issue of how easily we allow ourselves to accept teachings that lack a biblical foundation.

As I read it, I found a lot of my own experience being described, including the way my understanding of “the rapture” and the Tribulation period changed completely when I put aside what I’d been taught at church (and through popular books) and spent time learning what scripture actually said about the matter.

No doctrine can be established by applying different principles to similar texts, nor by overlaying scripture with an interpretation derived from another, dissimilar, part of the bible. We must not “read between the lines” when the lines themselves state the obvious. Nor do we have the freedom to extrapolate from the given text something that it does not teach, even when that doctrine appears elsewhere in the bible.

The scripture means what it says. We can’t turn it around, play with words, and mould it into something else. I have personally experienced this very thing. I even participated in it, to my shame.

In the day when I was deluded by the Word-of-Faith groups, I used to wink at their mishandling and twisting of scripture, because it confirmed my/their beliefs. I refused to listen to reason, or to anyone who said otherwise. I got defensive, angry even, at those who tried to open my eyes.

I remember sitting in conferences, and listening to audio tapes, and as somebody who knew the bible well my mind gave a little jolt when I heard these WoF teachers interpret the bible texts to mean something fanciful and wild. But I overlooked it! I winked at it! I excused them.

I told myself, “well they must be right because they know more than I do, and anyway, this teaching is very positive and uplifting and it makes me feel good.”

I didn’t WANT to be dissuaded.

I had the same sense of angry indignation when any of my friends tried to argue me out of WoF. I got hot, defensive, loud in the defense of my preferred interpretation (while inside having a few niggling doubts.)

Indeed, the more my doubts grew, the more defensive and aggressive I became. I was, in effect, putting my fingers in my ears and singing LaLaLaLa! I didn’t WANT to be persuaded!

Eventually, God shook me awake.

read complete article here:

http://www.birthpangs.org/articles/biblical/nailing-colours.html

1 Response to “Article by Tricia Tillin: “Nailing My Rapture Colours To The Mast””


  1. 1 Marleen
    October 2, 2015 at 2:30 am

    http://www.politico.com/story/2015/09/donald-trumps-evangelicals-televangelists-214250
    In a bid to consolidate support among evangelicals and keep his momentum from ebbing, Trump is courting charismatic televangelists who believe God wants you to be rich.

    http://blogs.wsj.com/washwire/2015/08/26/donald-trump-plans-meeting-with-evangelicals/
    Michael Cohen, the executive vice president of the Trump Organization, said the New York developer will meet with “a significant number of pastors from across the country that will be coming to meet with Mr. Trump for a prayer service.”

    Mr. Cohen said the gathering is being organized not by the Trump campaign or the Trump Organization, which oversees Mr. Trump’s business interests. Instead he said “the evangelical community,” led by Paula White, a Florida evangelical preacher with a daily television show on The Word Network, was arranging the session.

    A spokeswoman for Mr. Trump’s presidential campaign said the event isn’t affiliated with his campaign organization. “It’s a private meeting,” she said.

    Ms. White couldn’t be reached for comment.

    … Mr. Trump has also appeared on her television show, “Paula White Today.”

    http://video.foxnews.com/v/4517356651001/donald-trump-meets-with-evangelicals/#sp=show-clips


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 78,517 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers


