05
Jun
15

Left the Prophetic Movement?


Recently I posted details of an article on Andrew Strom’s Revival School blog. He made some very important points regarding the “ministry” of Bill Johnson and his Bethel church.

How disappointing it was to come across the latest addition to Andrew’s blog. He’s back to posting “prophecy” from proven false prophets.

Today he posted another “prophecy”, this one from a man who more than a decade ago, prior to the 2nd Bush family invasion of Iraq, “prophesied” that weapons of mass destruction would be found in Iraq.

He was a false prophet then.
He remains a false prophet now.

For an interesting view of false prophets I recommend that Andrew Strom refers to the article here:

http://www.johnthebaptisttv.com/why-i-left-the-prophetic-movement/

I’ll end this post with a little secret that is relevant to so much “prophecy” within the western church.
The gospel and God’s purposes are not centred on the USA or its President.
_________________________________________
To see the false prophecy I refer to, this is the link to the article on Andrew’s blog: http://www.revivalschool.com/america-after-obama-a-prophecy-comments/

8 Responses to “Left the Prophetic Movement?”


  1. 1 Steve
    June 5, 2015 at 1:50 pm

    “The gospel and God’s purposes are not centred on the USA or its President.”

    AMEN !! It’s almost diagnostic of false prophecy that it concerns American politics. Do God’s purposes REALLY begin and end in America’s every political twitch !?!? Overweening national arrogance is never a hallmark of God’s Spirit speaking.

    blessing, Steve

  2. June 5, 2015 at 1:58 pm

    Hi Steve,
    It could seem strange that those responsible for the “prophecy” as well as Andrew himself are not American; but I think that only shows how much the influence of the “American gospel” has spread.
    One of those responsible for the prophecy is almost a neighbour of mine. He lives around 40 minutes from me. When I first heard about him I looked into his “ministry”, hoping he’d be legitimate. Sadly I found that wasn’t the case.

  3. June 5, 2015 at 8:10 pm

    I agree. Prophecy is distinctly different in the New Covenant compared to the Old. In the Old Testament, prophecy was directed to the nation of Israel, its leaders or to other nations. In the New Testament examples, prophecy is overwhelmingly found in the context of the fellowship of Jesus’ people. Jesus on the night he was betrayed taught that the Holy Spirit, who is the author of prophecy, will always point us to Him. “For the testimony of Jesus is the spirit of prophecy” (The Book of Revelation).

    Thus Paul said we prophesy partially, but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away. At present we see indistinctly, as in a mirror, but then face to face. At present we know partially; then we shall know fully, as we are fully known (1 Corinthians 13). Because we see indistinctly, our prophecies are not perfect and need to be judged against God’s Word (1 Corinthians 12–14, 1 John 4). This contrasts strongly with prophecy in the Old Covenant. May I add that Andrew Strom is quoting others here and is asking readers for comment. Which is what the apostles said should be done: weigh what is said. However this kind of utterance seems way out of character with what Joel prophesied would happen in “the last days” and with apostolic teaching.

  4. June 6, 2015 at 1:41 am

    Amen, brother: I’ve always found that perplexing too. Like you say, the idea that America is the world’s One Great Hope seems to have beguiled many hearts: not in America only, which raises it above simple national arrogance. If nothing else, that would convince me “Empire America” is a major false idol of our day.

    I left a short comment on Andrew’s post of the prophecy. Basically, that if Hilary Clinton becomes president, maybe the prophecy is a true one: which I doubt. But either way, that the “end of “Empire America” is true; and a good thing for revealing which believers hearts’ are more set on God than on the idol.

    blessings, brother ! I always appreciate the Godly commonsense of your posts.

    in Jesus, Steve

  5. 5 Unprofitable Servant
    June 6, 2015 at 9:15 am

    I was NEVER comfortable with Strom’s alleged “leaving the pathetic movement” Yes… pathetic movement…

    He remains a false prophet as you can’t get rid of demons by leaving a movement…

  6. June 10, 2015 at 4:55 am

    Thanks for that reminding scripture, Ian, and Amen ! “…the testimony of Jesus is the spirit of prophecy.” (Revelation 19:10)

    You probably have a point too that Andrew is mostly putting that prophecy out there for discernment and comment. I hope readers measure it against the benchmark you wisely cite.

    blessing, Steve

  7. June 10, 2015 at 10:10 am

    If that is Andrew’s reason for putting out prophecies, I’d have to wonder why he has mostly put out prophecies of a highly questionable nature. As a believer of long-standing, and someone who has seen himself called to some kind of leadership, Andrew’s record of prophetic involvement has often lacked discernment and wisdom and exposed immature believers to some very dodgy “prophecy”.

    On several occasions I’ve approached Andrew about this. He has often referred to Paul’s statement about not despising prophecy – but I don’t think I’ve ever seen him note how Paul continues, giving the instruction to TEST all things and to hold to what is good.

    “Do not treat prophecies with contempt but test them all; hold on to what is good, reject every kind of evil. (1 Thess 5)

    Despising prophecies, or treating them with contempt does not merely refer to rejecting prophecy. I think that a failure to test prophecy is no less contemptuous of the gift.

    Personally, I would not pass on a prophecy to anyone else before I’d assessed it for myself and considered it genuine; or if I wasn’t entirely sure I wouldn’t submit it to all and sundry, but would refer it to mature believers who I thought could give a wise judgement.

  8. June 10, 2015 at 6:59 pm

    Hi, Tim:

    “Personally, I would not pass on a prophecy to anyone else before I’d assessed it for myself and considered it genuine; or if I wasn’t entirely sure I wouldn’t submit it to all and sundry, but would refer it to mature believers who I thought could give a wise judgement.”

    I’d agree, those are the two best ways to handle prophecy. I don’t know if Andrew operates on those guidelines, but would hope so.

    He has “put out there” some prophecies I’d consider questionable. I’m not sure that indicates his personal vetting and endorsement, though it at least gives that appearance. I’m more inclined to think he puts them out for discernment and comment…overestimating his audience’ maturity and wisdom.

    Either way, it’s troubling. If that’s more than just a subjective impression, maybe God will speak to him about it.

    blessing, Steve


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 75,326 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers


