Your Eternal Destiny is Not in Heaven

holy holy holy

There are three consecutive destinations ahead for believers in Jesus who remain faithful to Him; two temporary, and the third everlasting:

 Destination 1)  After death – what has traditionally been seen as “heaven”. This is a place and time of waiting for the first resurrection, when the dead in Christ will rise before returning to earth with Him. Jesus and the resurrected believers will be met in the air by the believers who remained alive on earth until that time. As they are caught up those latter believers are changed to take on immortality (in other words the same kind of resurrected body as Jesus and those who had died before His return)

 Destination 2)  The Messianic Kingdom on earth (the Millennium). After Jesus returns, those resurrected or “changed” will be with Him on this earth in new incorruptible and immortal bodies like His. According to Revelation this period lasts for 1000 years. This period is followed by the second resurrection, the judgement and the end of the current heavens and earth

 Destination 3)  A new heavens, new earth and the New Jerusalem will replace the current creation. The new earth will be the everlasting home of those who maintained faith in Jesus. It is also where God will make His home among His people.


 There is one ultimate destination for those who don’t faithfully believe in Jesus: the lake of fire.

 “But the cowardly, unbelieving, abominable, murderers, sexually immoral, sorcerers, idolaters, and all liars shall have their part in the lake which burns with fire and brimstone, which is the second death.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s