05
May
14

A Welcome Visitor


eastern spinebillFor almost 8 years I’ve been keeping a list of the different types of birds I’ve seen from my home. It includes the various birds seen in my garden, from my garden (on neighbouring properties) or flying over my garden. The one limiting factor is that I have to be on my own property when I see them.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to add another bird to the list, but this morning I saw something different feeding from a small Correa plant now in flower.

While it’s always exciting to be able to add a new entry on my list, this morning’s sighting was more special than most. It was an eastern spinebill.

What is so significant about this bird?

For many years I’ve owned a watercolour painting of an eastern spinebill. It’s been hanging on my bedroom wall since we moved into this house in 2006.

Almost from the day I bought the painting I’ve been wondering why I didn’t get one of a bird with more personal significance – for example, there were several I could have bought of blue wrens, birds that I regularly see .

Today’s sighting has now given more relevance to the painting. It’s no longer a depiction of a random bird, but is an illustration of a welcome new visitor.

Photo (of Spinebill on a Grevillea plant) from here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spinebill

7 Responses to “A Welcome Visitor”


  1. May 7, 2014 at 12:53 am

    I come from a family of bird watchers so it’s always cool to see others pontificate on birds! I’m legally blind, so bird watching is a tad frustrating for me, but bird songs I like. Little wonders of God’s creation. Cool painting.

  2. 2 Marleen
    May 7, 2014 at 9:18 am

    You guys have interesting birds.

  3. 3 Marleen
    May 7, 2014 at 9:23 am

    “…bird songs I like. Little wonders of God’s creation.”

    Yes, indeed, Jeff.

  4. May 7, 2014 at 9:35 am

    The Blue Wrens that are always around our garden are listed in a book 100 Birds to See Before You Die.

    I think I’ve seen only one other bird on that list. I’m therefore doing my best to avoid the other 98.

  5. May 7, 2014 at 9:37 am

    I can recognise several local birds by their song. Although in the case of some it’s more approriate to write “song” – because their singing is as appealing as mine.

    There’s nothing quite like a Spurwinged Plover at night especially when you are walking towards one in the dark and it flies towards you.
    The ones near home live around the hospital helipad across the road. They nest on open ground and are therefore very territorial and aggressive.

  6. 6 Marleen
    May 7, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    I like this baby magpie singing to the lorikeets here, although the
    video I saw just before it (which I found after the one you shared)
    was about it being advised to keep magpies away from yourself.

    [Somehow, I have it linking to the last half minute or so.
    But then it can be started right over from the beginning.]

  7. May 7, 2014 at 4:26 pm

    When we lived in Sydney, Rainbow Lorikeets often flew to our balcony or onto our kitchen windowsill where we could hand feed them.

    Magpies have a very pleasant warbling song that we often hear early in the morning when one bird nearby sings to others more distant. They can be a serious hazard in their breeding season and will attack anyone walking near their nesting area.

    A few years ago I was attacked and hit from behind by the much smaller magpie lark. If that had been a magpie the result would have been much more painful.


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 81,612 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers


