11
Mar
14

Phone Scammers Need to Know Jesus Too.


Do you have occasional (or even regular) unsolicited phone calls from people who want to fix your computer problems? My parents get them several times a week and fortunately they don’t have a computer otherwise they might easily fall for the scam being perpetrated.

I’ve only had a few of those calls, and instead of my usual response of hanging up, or telling them that I’m aware of their dishonesty, I’ve realised that these phone calls give a good opportunity to tell these callers about Jesus. Last night I had my first opportunity.

The caller identified herself as being from “Windows Operating Systems”, she was calling about my computer and could she have a word with me?

“Of course “I replied cheerfully, “but could I say something first?”
Maybe my cheerful approach backfired, maybe they are too used to confusion, suspicion or hostility – she hung up before I could say anything else.

7 Responses to “Phone Scammers Need to Know Jesus Too.”


  1. 4 Marleen
    March 12, 2014 at 4:46 am

    Well, there’s an idea. Around here, a lot of people don’t have home phones anymore (such as myself), only cells. People used to be so polite if they answered the phone, and they’d have to figure out how to say no in a way that the caller could “hear” or how to “try” to even say goodbye or get off the phone. It was hard at first, but now people are colder about phone etiquette… or, like you said, just hang up. I find it too unpleasant and don’t answer numbers I don’t recognize. But there is far less of that mess with cell phones anyway. I think it never should have been legal to solicit on the phone at all, especially when people didn’t have the option of caller identification. But, back to you’re idea, you’ve found a way to be more positive.

  2. March 12, 2014 at 7:13 am

    In Australia there is an “opt out” register which, when joined, is supposed to prevent unsolicited commercial calls. However it doesn’t prevent calls from political parties, charities or shady groups conducting scams.

    We don’t have call identification on our phone, but we don’t get many calls anyway so there’s not too much of a problem – apart from wrong numbers. One of the most interesting and most regular wrong number we get are calls for a woman with the same name as my wife, who lives in a street with almost the same name as ours (ours is **** Avenue, hers is ****’s Road) and her phone number has only one digit different to ours.

  3. March 15, 2014 at 5:11 am

    I have had many interactions with scammers. I enjoyed reading this. Feel free to stop by. God bless!

  4. May 13, 2014 at 1:05 pm

    I’ve contnued this approach to phonescammers and I’ve found that the name of Jesus ends the conversation far more quickly than any other method of trying to end the scammer’s spiel.


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 78,517 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers


