07
Jan
14

It’s official – I’m a Troll.


trollI’ve now been “officially labelled a Troll” by the cessationist mentioned in several of my recent posts. (see here: http://mennoknight.wordpress.com/2014/01/05/responding-to-the-authentic-fire-alarm/#comment-4781 )

And what is a Troll? Clearly it is someone not satisfied with scripture manipulation. It is someone who likes “Ministers” (the cessationist describes himself as a pastor) to show biblical accountability for the beliefs they promote. It is someone who won’t participate in a duel of proof texts at ten paces. It is someone who isn’t satisfied with “arguments” built of straw men and mockery.

Over many years I have found myself needing to shed previously held beliefs. So many things I’d taken for granted, convinced they were truth, have needed to be discarded. And I’m under no illusion that the process has ended. What other things in my life will eventually be exposed as error and how eager will I be to repent of them?

I know it’s not easy to face the consequences of finding long held beliefs have been wrong, especially those that give a degree of comfort, a sense of security or (to give a more sinister possibility) a feeling of pride. But our willingness to do so depends on how much we genuinely love the truth. And it is a desire to love the truth that spurs me not to be satisfied with anything less; that keeps me willing to have my beliefs challenged in the hope that I’ll change them should they be proven wrong. It is that desire that makes me wary of anyone who treats scripture disrespectfully, using it as a tool that can be pulled apart and used piecemeal to “prove” a doctrine or a practice of choice.

It is a desire that makes me WANT to be proven wrong IF I am wrong.
If someone can show me clear scriptural evidence that anything I believe is in error I’d be more than happy to change that belief. And that includes the issue of cessationism.

If anyone could show me biblical evidence (clear evidence, not re-interpreted, manipulated verses taken out of context) that Paul’s teachings on Spiritual gifts have been made redundant by a divine withdrawal of those gifts I’d be more than willing to accept that I’ve been wrong for decades.
So far the main promoters of cessationism have failed completely, especially when requests for evidence are dismissed with accusations and insults.

__________
An update to the trolling label.
The cessationist blog owner has now taken to changing the content of some of my posted comments to read as follows:
January 6, 2014 at 8:55 pm
Onesimus came here to be a pest. He was warned, but apparently he didn’t think that the admin was serious. He’s now in the penalty box until he can show up and do something more constructive than make fat jokes.

I find this to be a disturbing demonstration of that blogger’s character. Dishonest and manipulative and a liar to boot, making false accusations about “fat jokes”. And the man claims to be a “pastor”!
Yet another example of the woeful state of the organised “church” and it’s leaders.

9 Responses to “It’s official – I’m a Troll.”


  1. January 8, 2014 at 2:21 am

    I went to the About page on the blog in questin and read the following:

    Also, John MacArthur once took me for a walk and showed me Ronald Regan’s real grave.

    That should be enough to let you know the bias this fellow is operating from and that he’s not going to take anyone from the “opposite” camp seriously.

  2. January 8, 2014 at 7:09 am

    Hi James,
    I’ve now been banned from his blog (apparantly only the second person in history to suffer that fate). He also edited my final comment to the blog to make further allegations and add to the lies he’d posted previously under my name. He accuses me of condmening him to hell, where I had in fact quoted scripture that detailed the destiny of liars. If he thought I was condemning him to hell, he must be admitting to being a liar.

  3. January 8, 2014 at 1:41 pm

    Sadly I can’t reply to the following comment that was posted on the blog that recently banned me after doctoring my comments to make some false allegations.

    A comment from Brad Kennedy
    January 7, 2014 at 6:55 pm

    To Mason and Onesimus: A plea for forgiveness.
    My former comments addressed to each of you were neither wise nor healing, and certainly not a reflection of the telios contained in 1 Corinthians 13. The opinions I expressed served only to expose a lack of diligent study and genuine love in my heart for the two of you. I repent and ask forgiveness from both of you for my perceived apathy. Continue to bury the treasure of Scripture in your hearts. “Faithful are the wounds of a friend, But deceitful are the kisses of an enemy.” (Proverbs 27:5,6)

    Being banned, my attempted reply to Brad was rejected but I genuinely appreciate Brad’s humility and I’m more than willing to extend the forgiveness he seeks.

  4. January 8, 2014 at 9:46 pm

    One of the consequences of being banned from an online venue is that people can still publically comment about you (for good or ill) after you’re banned. Can you email or otherwise message the blog owner? Maybe a private conversation will help clear the air.

  5. January 9, 2014 at 7:08 am

    Hi James, the blog owner doesn’t seem to have any contact details available. I haven’t found any yet. I’ve tried to contact a couple of others who comment on the blog but have received no reply so far.
    Considering the nature of most of the posts (a continued tone of mockery) and the way he changed my last three comments, I wouldn’t be confident that the blog owner would want the air cleared.

    (update. I have now received a reply from one of the others who comment on that blog.)

  6. January 9, 2014 at 7:52 am

    Time to move on, then.

  7. January 9, 2014 at 8:09 am

    Yes James, that seems to be the case. Maybe what is left there of my comments (including the obviously doctored comments) will be of help to someone.

  8. January 18, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    Thank you strong warrior Onesimus, for taking a stand against the false teachings of the cessationists!! They have the appearance of being a Christian, but deny the power thereof! I pity them. What an empty and cursed life they must lead, to be without the Holy Spirit’s gifts!

    As to the Cessationists…
    “Ye hypocrites, well did Esaias prophesy of you, saying, This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me with their lips; but their heart is far from me. But in vain they do worship me, teaching for doctrines the commandments of men. And he called the multitude, and said unto them, Hear, and understand: Not that which goeth into the mouth defileth a man; but that which cometh out of the mouth, this defileth a man. Then came his disciples, and said unto him, Knowest thou that the Pharisees were offended, after they heard this saying? But he answered and said, Every plant, which my heavenly Father hath not planted, shall be rooted up.
    Let them alone: they be blind leaders of the blind. And if the blind lead the blind, both shall fall into the ditch.”
    Matthew 15:7-14, KJV

    3 This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come. For men shall be…Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.” 2 Timothy 3:1-2,5, KJV

    Message to the (Cessationist) Church…
    …”‘Because you say, “I am rich, and have become wealthy, and have need of nothing,” and you do not know that you are wretched and miserable and poor and blind and naked, I advise you to buy from Me gold refined by fire so that you may become rich, and white garments so that you may clothe yourself, and that the shame of your nakedness will not be revealed; and eye salve to anoint your eyes so that you may see. ‘Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline; therefore be zealous and repent.…”
    Revelation 3:17-19

    I guess they only thing left we can do, is to pray that they would repent, and feel the need to buy eye salve from the Lord so they can anoint their eyes and finally SEE.

    On a side note,
    Is your name a reference to the Onesiphorus mentioned in 2 Timothy 16? It sure seems to fit you…
    “The Lord give mercy unto the house of Onesiphorus; for he oft refreshed me, and was not ashamed of my chain:…”

    Great blessings to you always,
    C. Dunamis

  9. January 20, 2014 at 7:11 am

    G’Day, the name Onesimus comes from the runaway slave who returned to Philemon, mnetioned in Paul’s letter to Philemon.

    At the time I started to use the name, I had recently returned to the Lord after going through a lengthy crisis of faith.

    Despite the claims of a false prophet that I’ve written about a couple of times on this blog, the name has nothing to do with “Simus” who is apparantly a dark lord associated with the Star Wars franchise.


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 75,603 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers


