12
Nov
13

The Complete and Exhaustive Biblical Evidence of the Cessationist Viewpoint


cessation

11 Responses to “The Complete and Exhaustive Biblical Evidence of the Cessationist Viewpoint”


  1. November 13, 2013 at 2:29 am

    Indeed.

    I’ve been thinking too there’s more than a little hubris involved. God says He gives us (whatever): but we don’t seem to HAVE it. There can only be two explanations.

    Maybe WE ignored, missed, or lost it by our spiritual blindness, ignorance, and unbelief ? Naw, THAT can’t be.

    Then God must have changed His mind and taken it back.

    Thus “cessationism.”

    In Jesus, Steve

  2. November 13, 2013 at 7:10 am

    I agree 100% Steve.
    Accusations are levelled against charismatics/Pentecostals that they are too focused on experience instead of doctrine – and yet with cessationism we have a doctrine that is entirely based on experience (or more accurately the lack of it).

  3. November 13, 2013 at 9:51 am

    I’ve been in discussion on a cessationist blog and was presented with this statement:

    “If signs and wonders were given to authenticate the messenger as one truly from God, then once that message was authenticated it would seem appropriate for those signs and wonders to cease.”

    This statement reveals a lot regarding the philosophy behind cessationism. Whether the user of that statement knew it or not, her statement is based on a quote from Calvin’s commentaries. It is an idea arising out of a man’s theology and NOT from scripture.

    I now have to make a retraction. Earlier this comment continues with the following statement:

    “I’ve now chosen to leave the blog owner to his error after he labelled me “thick-skulled” and an idiot.” It has now been made clear that I misread that blog owner’s comments and his acutal words were ““in the process of trying to get a thought through your skull” … and in his reference to idiot he actually said I was “not an idiot”, somehow I managed to overlook that important word “not”. I apologise for this mistake. I have also posted an apology on that blog in question.

  4. 4 Abby G.
    November 13, 2013 at 5:41 pm

    If I realized that a singular sentence would be taken and speculated upon outside of the conversation I would have refrained from the conversation altogether instead of trying to understand your view.

    Not that it makes any difference to you, but I haven’t read any of Calvin’s commentaries.

  5. November 14, 2013 at 7:11 am

    Abby,
    The fact that you haven’t read Calvin’s commentaries merely highlights one of the points I was making – one of the teachers you have learned from DID pick it up from Calvin and taught Calvin rather than scripture. OR, some one further back in the chain of teachers that eventually led to you read Calvin, taught Calvin and the subsequent teachers merely passed on his teaching rather than teaching scripture.

    The sad thing is that the Calvin quote is one of the foundations of cessationism, a belief system that has no biblical support at all.

  6. November 14, 2013 at 8:02 am

    LOL. Us thick-skulled idiots gotta stick togther ! (Do you imagine the name “Church of Jesus Christ of Thick-skulled Idiots” is already taken ? LOL.)

    I might also mention an experience and reflection I had just before MacArthur’s book stirred up the “cessationist” debate again.

    By coincidence (of which Jesus is also Lord), my Sunday School class was studying in I Corinthians last month. We got through Chapter 12 on the gifts, and Chapter 13 on love, with no substantial disagreement.

    All fine until v. 26 of Chapter 14, “…when you assemble together…” I offered that this seems to be the basic scriptural teaching on what Christian worship looks like. There was vehement disagreement; most of which seemed to be predicated (as you say) on experience, or rather lack of it: that we don’t worship that way.

    To tell the truth, I was rather taken aback. There’d been no hint of rejection of the spiritual gifts in our previous study: and their use in worship is exactly what’s being taught in v. 26 and following. I noted the disagreement to ponder later.

    Thinking about it since, I’d still consider v. 26ff the basic pattern of Christian worship. The use of the Spirit’s gifts there; and our deferral to His sovereign determination of how, and when, and to whom He will manifest Himself for the “edification” of the assembled Body; simply and powerfully acknowledges His Lordship. I’d take it all as bearing strongly on what Jesus denotes as “worship in Spirit and in truth.”

    That’s probably also the crux of why we reject that kind of worship. We prefer to be in control ourselves.

    In Jesus, Steve

  7. November 14, 2013 at 8:45 am

    Hi Steve, I’ve retracted my comments about “thick skulled” and “idiot”. I’m not sure how I did it, but I totally misread what had been said. See above.

    What you say about your sunday school class is an example of how we think far too often, almost like saying “we don’t do things that way so the bible can’t really be saying that”.

  8. November 15, 2013 at 1:43 am

    Yep, duly noted.

    Noted especially that when you saw you were wrong, you were quick to admit it and apologize.

    Having been publicly WRONG recently, I know it’s mortifying to publicly back down.

    You did right. It’s God who mortifies (literally, “puts to death”) our self-pride. We all need that.

    In Jesus, Steve

  9. 9 Marleen
    November 15, 2013 at 3:08 am

    Did you remove the original entry for this? I can’t find it.

    I like Steve’s idea: C(o)JC(o)T(he thick-skulled) — outside of whatever the original entry said or was referring to… or anything about that. Playfully, it draws some thought to how people come up with official names for registered institutions or new “movements” to attract or make impressions on others or themselves.

  10. 10 Marleen
    November 15, 2013 at 3:12 am

    Oh. I get it [back to the original entry now].

    : )

  11. 11 Marleen
    November 15, 2013 at 3:29 am

    It probably helped that I’d (by almost chance) watched this video before trying to “find” on my computer what you’d posted and I hadn’t been able to find on my kindle, where I not infrequently get blank screens because of things that technology (in contrast to my desk-top technology) won’t handle.

    http://www.theguardian.com/artanddesign/video/2013/nov/14/sally-phillips-international-art-market-video


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 75,326 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers


