26
Aug
13

Anti-Saccharine Jesus


Here is my first portrait of Jesus. I wanted to work against the common saccharine, blue eyed blond image that is the traditional portrayal.

This painting is 60cm x 60cm (24″ x 24″) and mostly painted with a pallette knife, except for the background where I used a brush.

DSCF0856

He is despised and rejected by men,
A Man of sorrows and acquainted with grief.

9 Responses to “Anti-Saccharine Jesus”


  1. 1 Marleen
    August 31, 2013 at 1:44 am

    You’ve demonstrated insight.

  2. September 4, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    Thank you,
    I’m currently painting another portrait which is turning out much more “realistic” (though using unusual colours). Its likely to be a biblical prophet, but which one depends how it all turns out.

    I hope to have photos soon.

  3. September 4, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    would love to see them. I painted Jesus as he was seen by John in the book a revelation!!

  4. September 5, 2013 at 8:21 am

    I’ve now posted a photo of my current painting: “Before Me A Door In Heaven Opened”.

    Do you have a photo of your Jesus painting on your blog?

  5. 7 Steve
    October 28, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    Hi, Brother: been a while since I checked in.
    I think this was the painting you’d mentioned earlier you were contemplating. I was looking forward to seeing it.
    First impression: not enough blood. Pondering, I think that a Hollywood-conditioned expectation.

    The eyes, rightly, carry it all. And the eyes are right: patient, suffering, and secure in it.

    The eyes stay with me.

    In Jesus, Steve

  6. November 6, 2013 at 7:57 am

    Hi Steve,
    I’m going to continue my attempts to paint a better “anti-saccharine Jesus”. There’s a lot about this painting that I like – but also a lot that I’m not happy with. However, from past experience, it will be better to try again with a new painting than try to improve this one. When I try too hard to fix a painting I have a habit of spoiling the good bits instead of improving its faults.

  7. November 7, 2013 at 12:43 am

    LOL. That’s my experience too: across a wide range of endeavors.

    Too, it would be hard to improve the emotional power of Jesus’ eyes here.

    In Jesus, Steve


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 72,198 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers


