11
Jan
13

2013: First Paintings


A landcape and a self-portrait

1 2013

2 2013

The landscape was mostly created with heavy sprays of water onto the paint, causing it to run across the tipped canvas (A slight Frankenthaler influence). I then added a few touches with a brush. I’m quite happy with the result which reminds me of some of Fred Williams work (if only!)

The portrait was done on a canvas that I’d been using for months but always with disappointing results. Colours from the failed paintings show through the swirls and smears of paint that I quickly applied on top.
After I covered the canvas I turned it this way and that until I saw a potential face.

Other angles had shown different possibilities but I was hesitant to add to Albert Tucker’s Images of Modern Evil series. Some of those potential images I saw in the swirls bordered on the creepy.

2 Responses to “2013: First Paintings”


  1. 1 Marleen
    January 15, 2013 at 12:59 am

    I like both of these — a lot.


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 75,375 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers


