05
Dec
12

Trying Something Different


paintings 008Part of a painting I’ve been working on, with the tools I used to create it. I put aside brush and palette knife and used a rag, sand paper and a pointy thing halfway between a pin and a nail.

After taking the photo I did a lot more work, layering streaks of paint with the edge of the pointy thing. However, I think I over-did it and I’m not happy with the result. It’s not only the painting that disappoints me – the surface of the canvas has become buckled from my rough handling. I’ve heard of artists who stretch their own canvases, but I know that term describes something far different from the stretching I did with this one.

If I try this approach to painting again I’ll have to use Masonite or some other form of hard board.

Blog Stats

  • 81,612 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers


