06
Nov
12

Truly Truly


An overworked painting?

I think too many things thrown into the canvas.

6 Responses to “Truly Truly”


  1. 1 Marleen
    December 31, 2012 at 4:31 pm

    I actually like it overall; I mean in terms of what you have brought up — so much included. Just the look of it I mean, except I don’t know what the three red dots are and think the the Y is distracting (or maybe not distracting so much as not “working” in the overall look of the painting). But then I have to ask about the subject matter of the rest of the painting. Would you tell me/us about it? I’m thinking the focal point would be the words just right of center if the Y and dots were not there. It would be a subtle focal point with a lot of interest around it. I’m trying to think if there’s a different way to include the Y [like on a smaller scale] or if it must be in the painting.

  2. 2 Marleen
    December 31, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    Ah, I just clicked on it to look at it larger — and I like it even more seeing it with the additional words I hadn’t noticed before, more subtle, to the further right and lower. And I like the King in the right lower corner and the tablet/card with the K (of Jews) in the lower left corner. Well, feel free to leave this additional post out or edit it to leave off part of it or to combine any part of it with the earlier one or whatever.

  3. January 2, 2013 at 10:39 am

    HI Marleen,
    The Y and the red dots relate to a landmark in my home town (as does the clocktower image in the top right corner). I regulalry use the Y shape as a representation of the crucifixion – it’s the shape of the outstretched arms of a crucified man.

    With this painting I tried to include too many different things.
    I agree that the Y doesn’t seem to fit. If I recall correctly it looked much better in an early stage – but I changed the colour and spoiled the effect.

  4. 4 Marleen
    January 3, 2013 at 11:29 am

    I like the overall look, which (aside from what I said would be the first and next subtle focal points if the Y and red dots were not there) largely involves the blue hash marks and the white lines in front. At first, I was thinking of that as the particular subject matter of this painting (despite the distraction as far as the composition was concerned). Is the blue part with the white lines also local?

  5. January 3, 2013 at 12:03 pm

    The blue and white represents a few things. There is a reference to “living water”. As a local reference we have a creek flowing through town that sparked a gold rush in the mid 1800s.

    Part of it is also a representation of the striped concentration camp uniform worn by Jews in WWII – this links with the suffering of Jesus, King of Jews, represented elsewhere in the painting.

  6. 6 Marleen
    January 4, 2013 at 7:05 am

    Thanks, Onesimus! And “Hi” to you too. You have an interesting and lively site/blog here.


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 67,980 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 226 other followers


