08
Aug
12

WHY: Golgotha


Psalm 22 has always been a favourite of mine. It is a vivid description of THE crucifixion given several hundred years before the Romans invented that form of execution.

While I love reading scripture aloud I have trouble reading that Psalm, I get too choked up. Psalm 22 is included on the pages in the centre of the painting.

I’ve been looking into the art of Holocaust survivor Samuel Bak. His work is described as a continual questioning, with no expectation of a definitive answer regarding the holocaust and Jewish suffering.

With this painting I express the anguish and suffering of Jesus and His identity as a Jew.

While the obvious reading of the “MY GOD WHY” in my painting is to see it as a question – there is no “?” after those words. It therefore could also be a statement expressing a truth about God – that the crucifixion wasn’t an accident. That the REASON (the why) can be found in God. That God HAS a purpose and that God IS the purpose.

Mankind gets so caught up with our own desires and expectations that God is pushed aside or pushed away. Often we only turn to Him when it seems to suit our best interests to do so, rather than turn to Him as THE reason for life and purpose.

Too often the question on our mind is “why me?” or “why us”.

Better questions to consider would be “Why You?” or “Why Jesus?” 

Why was such an extreme thing as the crucifixion of Jesus considered necessary? What was it all about? Why did God make such a sacrifice?

2 Responses to “WHY: Golgotha”


  1. August 31, 2012 at 8:22 am

    Particular posts strike home to me. I too find psalm 22 powerful. This is a striking picture and i like the mix of words and image.

  2. August 31, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    I like to include words in my paintings.
    I see other who use them so well – but I struggle to be satisifed with some of my own attempts. With this one I’m happy with the “mixed media” aspect of the bible pages, but I’m not entirely happy with the painted words behind the pages.

    I was extremely surprised at how well the crucifixion image turned out, and I think it is even more effective on the canvas than it is in the photo.


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 73,724 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers


