03
Aug
12

30 Day Very Rough Sketch Challenge


I’ve created a new blog page to record my “progress” in a “30 Day Very Rough Sketch Challenge”.
It’s a variation on a drawing challenge I came across on another site.
http://www.theautumnsociety.com/2012/01/30-day-drawing-challenge.html

I wasn’t sure I’d keep up with the discipline of doing a “proper” drawing every day so I adapted the challenge to suit myself.

If I keep it up during August, I might try it again next month – perhaps creating some different categories to tackle.

So far I’ve sketched:

1) Self portrait
2) Favourite Animal
3) Favourite food.

Details of the other categories can be found on the link provided on the new page.

_____________

Update – I didn’t keep up the sketching challenge so I’ve nuked the page.  But here are the few sketches I did get around to doing:

2 Responses to “30 Day Very Rough Sketch Challenge”


  1. August 4, 2012 at 6:37 am

    I’ve decided to accept your challenge but with this variation:
    Within every thirty days
    (1) I will look at a photo of myself
    (2) I will try to sight the neighbour’s black cat
    (3) I will eat a favourite food.
    These are samples of 21st Century (Installation) Art.
    This is Art that happens whether you want it to or not. Mostly not.
    You’re living in it.
    You woke up to it this morning.
    And you can’t turn it off, even if you wanted to.
    It is the kind of art that wins first prize of hundreds of thousands of dollars
    For turning a light switch on and off in a dark empty room.
    We all are artists and never knew it.
    Turning your computer on today was an act of Installation Art.

  2. August 6, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    Chris,
    if you want to be a REAL artist you don’t do these things for yourself. You have to hire someone to do them for you, like Damien Hirst did with his spot paintings.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Damien_Hirst

    A real artist gets the glory and the money without the need to actually apply the paint.


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 77,355 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 236 other followers


