20
Jul
12

Painting Influences (part 2)


Before moving on I need to back-track a little to mention Colin McCahon who should have been included at the beginning of my story. I was introduced to his work by Chris who helped me start this journey. I saw McCahon’s painting Victory Over Death 2 in the National Gallery of Australia on my first visit. It’s the kind of painting to which the word “awesome” can genuinely be applied. (Forget the modern, inappropriate over-usage of that word).

It was hung in the perfect position as close to eye level as a large canvas (2 m x 6 m) can be. And I spent a long time in front of it. Unfortunately it has now been relocated to a higher wall where it’s not as easy to see up close. But I always pay it a visit when I go to the gallery.

http://www.mccahon.co.nz/cm001502

Prior to my first year of painting I knew nothing about the history of art. I knew the names of the most famous painters and was familiar with a few well-known paintings, but beyond that I was clueless. Along with my personal attempts at artistic expression I started to research various artists and art forms.

My strongest interest has been towards art exploring biblical themes and I’ve looked for artists whose work includes aspects of that interest. Two of those I found are:

 Mazalit Chetzrony Tabib  Mazalit Chetzrony Tabib  http://www.mazalit-art.com/Eng/

Carol Bomer  http://www.carolbomer.com/

The inspiration of these artists is perhaps most seen in this painting I did around the time I came across them.

.

This is a painting I later changed slightly – but probably came away with a poorer result.

Mazalit Chetzrony Tabib, a Jewish artist, uses a vocabulary of symbols that are repeated in her work, such as a childlike images of  houses, and ladders. This gave me the idea of re-using symbols of my own, something I had been doing with the “Y” shape but hadn’t done with anything else.

In the painting above I used the clock face for the first time, something I have repeated in most paintings I’ve done since.

2 Responses to “Painting Influences (part 2)”


  1. 1 Chris Strom
    July 20, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    I love that painting, Tim. I think it is one of the most successful you’ve ever done. Don’t tell me you’ve changed a thing–I don’t want to know! 🙂

  2. July 20, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    ok, I won’t tell you.

    I think that painting is the first one I’d done that made me think I could be a “real” artist.


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 73,883 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 236 other followers


