21
Jun
12

Hour of Judgement (completed?)


I think this paintings is now finished. The photo was taken with a flash which seems to make certain parts of the picture more dominant than others. I’m hoping to get a better photo with natural light to post to my “gallery” page (art by onesimus).

“Woe! Woe to you, great city,

 you mighty city of Babylon!

In one hour your doom has come!”

 The merchants of the earth will weep and mourn over her because no one buys their cargoes any more – cargoes of gold, silver, precious stones and pearls; fine linen, purple, silk and scarlet cloth; every sort of citron wood, and articles of every kind made of ivory, costly wood, bronze, iron and marble; cargoes of cinnamon and spice, of incense, myrrh and frankincense, of wine and olive oil, of fine flour and wheat; cattle and sheep; horses and carriages; and human beings sold as slaves.

 ‘They will say, “The fruit you longed for is gone from you. All your luxury and splendour have vanished, never to be recovered.” The merchants who sold these things and gained their wealth from her will stand far off, terrified at her torment. They will weep and mourn and cry out:

 “Woe! Woe to you, great city,

 dressed in fine linen, purple and scarlet,

 and glittering with gold, precious stones and pearls!

In one hour such great wealth has been brought to ruin!”

 ‘Every sea captain, and all who travel by ship, the sailors, and all who earn their living from the sea, will stand far off. When they see the smoke of her burning, they will exclaim, “Was there ever a city like this great city?” They will throw dust on their heads, and with weeping and mourning cry out:

 “Woe! Woe to you, great city.”

5 Responses to “Hour of Judgement (completed?)”


  1. 1 christian louboutin
    June 22, 2012 at 5:06 am

    It’s a good post.

  2. June 23, 2012 at 8:00 am

    Who is this “great city”?

  3. June 25, 2012 at 9:19 am

    Hi Jamie,
    I see Revelation describing an actual city (at least as PART of what Babylon is). It is a centre of trade and is close enough to the sea for its destruction to be seen from ships.
    In my painting I have represented it with images of some well-known buildings. I think the most noticeable is the former WTC, but I have also included the world’s current tallest building in Dubai and I tried to use my home town’s clock tower to bring the idea of Babylon closer to home. It’s always easy to point the finger elsewhere. However I wasn’t happy with the way I’d illustrated the clock tower so most of it obscured, with just the clok face still visible (I use clock faces in a few of my paintings, all showing 3.00pm, the time when Jesus cried out “My God, My God…”

    The use of towers alludes to the tower of Babel.

  4. June 25, 2012 at 11:50 am

    Tim, I have always thought it described America, with New York City bearing the brunt of destruction.

  5. June 25, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    In the past I’ve puzzled over some aspects of Babylon, but in doing this painting I started to notice some things in scripture that may clear up some of the puzzles.

    I personally suspect it could be a city in the middle east. I want to do some closer reading devoted to this before saying much more. I’m leaning towards this conclusion as I see more and more that the antichrist will come out of the Arab world – in keeping with the relationship between Israel and Abraham’s other offspring from biblical times onward.

    But then again the city could very well be NYC or some other centre of finance and trade relatively close to the sea and shipping lanes.


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 75,603 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 235 other followers


