19
Jun
12

Fall of Babylon (Hour of Judgement 2)


My work on “Hour of Judgement” has continued. The painting refers to the downfall of Babylon as depicted in Revelation 18. I’m very happy with the progress, but haven’t yet figured out what to do with the bottom right hand third of the painting. I need to add something in that area.

I have some ideas that I’d like to try but I’m not yet sure what will work best. I’ve already tried one or two things that weren’t successful.

So far I think this has the potential to be one of my best paintings to date. I just wish the photo captured the original more faithfully.

Come, I will show you the punishment of the great prostitute, who sits by many waters. With her the kings of the earth committed adultery, and the inhabitants of the earth were intoxicated with the wine of her adulteries.

The name written on her forehead was a mystery:

babylon the great

the mother of prostitutes

and of the abominations of the earth.

I saw that the woman was drunk with the blood of God’s holy people, the blood of those who bore testimony to Jesus.

‘“Woe! Woe to you, great city,

 you mighty city of Babylon!

In one hour your doom has come!”

(excerpts from Rev 17 and 18)

Blog Stats

  • 81,642 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers


