12
Aug
14

You Don’t Need Church Tradition ( by Jeff Weddle)


If a Holy Spirit indwelt person were stranded on a desert island with nothing but the Bible for ten years, would he come off that island with sound doctrine?

I believe he would.

Church tradition, although a helpful thing at times, is not necessary for sound doctrine.

If you have the Holy Spirit and the Bible, you’re good to go.

complete article here:
http://antiitchmeditation.wordpress.com/2014/08/11/you-dont-need-church-tradition/

7 Responses to “You Don’t Need Church Tradition ( by Jeff Weddle)”


  1. August 12, 2014 at 9:28 am

    For your information–Torben Sondergaard is coming to Brisbane last week end September to ‘kickstart’ many into making disciples ans getting out of church stuff and into the harvest which is ready here in Australia. The Lord’s name be praised and exulted!

  2. 2 Marleen
    August 29, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    I’m slowly working myself through a book that seems to be saying everything about church (except, of course, it’s replacement of Israel) is pagan, including someone getting up and talking. The first time I noticed this was what they were saying (albeit, among other things), the authors had gone through a history of the reformation taking the tradition from services centering on ritual (communion or the Eucharist) to services or meetings centered on scripture. I thought that was odd (that this would be bad). Then there was the indication of the problem mainly being that church became an evangelism place instead of primarily a community; that one makes sense to me as not ideal (although it doesnt, to me, make it pagan). But now I’m seeing a claim that sermons or oratory started with Chrysostom and Augustine and are pagan. [I'm not a fan of Augustine or Chrysostom, but I disagree with this assessment of speaking to a group.] To these authors, something is pagan if they don’t think they see it in the Bible… and especially if something seems to have happened in Greek culture. On this ground, oratory based in scripture or word-based gathering is pagan… even though it was also modeled in synagogues. (By this, you can know I’m not reading something Messianic. It’s more like the OCD of Mystery Babylon, however worthwhile I think that book is, gone wild.) But, with this last example (Greek style oratory or rhetoric), I will take issue. Mark Nanos has shown, or posited, that Paul was knowledgeable in oratory and rhetoric and used a Greek style (and conceptual elements as well) in I Corinthians. [Besides that, we have evidence of long talks elsewhere by Paul and by Jesus and Peter and Stephen, etc.). So, while I agree that I don’t need to go listen to a sermon every week, I will admit I have be emitted from them. I’ve even benefited from going for them weekly. I don’t currently (haven’t for a long while), and that is fine. However, I learn online reading from people I can discern as like in values… still, not like weekly or like I just take it in, but as considering the input.

    • August 29, 2014 at 12:49 pm

      That sounds like the Viola and Barna book that was a rewrite of a book Viola wrote initally by himself. I have both books but don’t recall ever getting all the way through either of them.

      I agree that calling sermons pagan – or that they started with Augustine and Chrysostom is clearly false. There are enough examples of sermons being preached in scripture to undermine that claim and to give that kind of preaching legitimacy. However, I think the sermon has been elevated to a position for which it was never intended, and it has become the “main event” in protestant church services allowing little or no room for ineraction from those who are intended to listen. Also the sermon in practice has too often become a means for the preacher to talk on a topic of his own choosing, using the bible as a tool to support his own viewpoint instead of truly addressing what scripture says.

  3. 4 Marleen
    August 29, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    …benefited from them.

  4. 5 Marleen
    August 29, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    I maybe could say I have emitted (LOL) from them,
    too, my having grown up with so much of this.

  5. 6 Marleen
    August 29, 2014 at 3:20 pm

    Yes, those are the authors. And, yes, there is often too much of what you indicated. I’m thankful there wasn’t very much of that in the places I went (maybe more of it at one place for a couple years or so). At the Messianic congregation I attended for years, there came a time when if the usual teacher/rabbi had to be out of town the congregation would simply read the Bible together and talk. It was too risky to get a guest speaker (when Christian ones are more available because they’re more numerous, and they’re more likely to say random stuff).


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 29,857 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 178 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

