04
Aug
14

Eye Test


Eye test

Isaiah 5:20

Woe to those who call evil good, and good evil; Who put darkness for light, and light for darkness; Who put bitter for sweet, and sweet for bitter!

Matt 19:24

I say to you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God

proverbs 10:10

He that winks with the eye causes sorrow

4 Responses to “Eye Test”


  1. 1 Marleen
    August 5, 2014 at 2:15 pm

    Ta-ha-ha-he. That was fun.
    It was so serious, still is, but…

    I’m looking at it on a little screen, so it IS a test.
    Other than all that, though, I really think this is outstanding.

    And… I don’t know if I’m “seeing things” — but I seem to keep finding more.

    • August 5, 2014 at 2:25 pm

      Thanks Marleen,
      The painting is literally layers upon layers.

      Under parts of it are newsclippings which are now mostly obscured but an impression of newsprint, and maybe a word or two, are visible under the surface paint.

      There are also handwritten portions of scripture combined with text-like squiggles.

      The winking man in the top left is the Australian prime-minister who gave a sly wink during a phone call taken during a radio interview. The call came from a pensioner who claimed she had to work on a telephone sex-line to earn enough money to survive.

      The painting was started when a recent Govt. budget was announced that is particularly hard on people with low incomes and relatively soft on recipients of high incomes.

  2. 3 Marleen
    August 5, 2014 at 9:00 pm

    Okay, thanks! And I did see some script here or there, and block lettering. Don’t think I made out anything from newspaper but wrinkles. Did you know there is sort of a skeleton head in the blue on the right? The mouth is where I think I see the word “IF” in white.

  3. 4 Marleen
    August 6, 2014 at 7:59 am

    But before I looked closer and made out the I and the F (which itself also significantly preceded perceiving that there is a skull, the back of which is in the yellow), that blue/white area looked like a receding eternity even as the man is looking in the direction that he isn’t grasping. [By the way, I like texture, so the "wrinkles" are a good thing. And if I were to see it in real life, I'm sure seeing the newsprint in the background would be a bonus.]


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 30,906 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 182 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

