12
Feb
14

Jesus said “I AM…”


I AM

And God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.” And He said, “Thus you shall say to the children of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’”

…the high priest asked Him, saying to Him, “Are You the Christ, the Son of the Blessed?”

Jesus said, “I AM. And you will see the Son of Man sitting at the right hand of the Power, and coming with the clouds of heaven.”

I AM the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst

I AM the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.

When you lift up the Son of Man, then you will know that I AM, and that I do nothing of Myself; but as My Father taught Me, I speak these things.

Most assuredly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM

Most assuredly, I say to you, I AM the door of the sheep.

I AM the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live.

I AM the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

Jesus therefore, knowing all things that would come upon Him, went forward and said to them, “Whom are you seeking?”

They answered Him, “Jesus of Nazareth.”

Jesus said to them, “I AM.” And Judas, who betrayed Him, also stood with them. Now when He said to them, “I am He,” they drew back and fell to the ground.

Then the Lord said, “I AM Jesus”

7 Responses to “Jesus said “I AM…””


  1. 1 Steve
    February 12, 2014 at 8:39 am

    Less is very greatly more here: as with the simple listing of those scriptures. Powerful !

    In Jesus, Steve

    • February 12, 2014 at 9:00 am

      With painting there is always the temptation to do more.

      It’s something I’m trying to overcome because I like “busy” canvases with things to find, where everything isn’t immediately obvious on the surface.

      But sometimes the obvious is more effective and appropriate.

  2. February 12, 2014 at 11:06 am

    “And God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.””

    A more accurate translation of the Hebrew wold be “I will be what I will be” because it is in the future tense. More freely translated as “I am becoming what I chose to be.”

    lwk

    • February 12, 2014 at 11:22 am

      Since God does not change, I see no validity in your latter “freely translated” definition.

    • February 12, 2014 at 11:40 am

      Actually God does change.

      And he that sat upon the throne said, Behold, I make all things new. -Revelation 21:5 KJV

      Behold, I will do a new thing; -Isaiah 43:19

      “I see no validity in your latter “freely translated” definition.”

      The NIV in a footnote gives it as ” I will be what I will be” which is a concession to accurate translation.

      lwk

    • February 12, 2014 at 11:49 am

      Those “new thing” examples do not signify any change in God Himself. Doing something new doesn’t change the nature or character of the person doing the new thing.

      It was the “I am becoming what I choose to be” that was the faulty translation. I have no problem with “I will be what I will be” – which is little different to “I am Who I am” in reference to an eternal unchanging God.

  3. February 16, 2014 at 2:28 am

    Hi, all:

    I only had a couple years of Hebrew, almost 40 years ago, and I’ve forgotten most of that: so I’m much out of my depth here.

    On meditating, however, it seems God’s “I Will Be What I Will Be” characterizes His continuing revelation, to OUR perception, of Himself: His doing a new thing, and making all things new, as WE (whom He’s addressing with those words) perceive “new:” and so, futurity. (I also take the promise of His doing “new” things as a warning against the presumptuousness that we know Him so fully that we consider Him “predictable.”)

    As with man created in His image, I understand God’s acts to manifest His innermost Being/Nature/Character (what POSSIBLE word here ?). In that regard, “I Will Be What I Will Be” is certainly futurity…but applied to Him Who is not subject to time. “Becoming,” in contrast, is a function OF time: so I have problems with that as valid of Him.

    Doesn’t our understanding of His “I Will Be What I Will Be,” His future acts-of-revelation, have to rest on the fact that He does NOT change: that those acts “Will Be” HIMSELF as completely as He now (in our perception of time) IS Himself ?

    LOL. Also getting out of my depth trying to express those ideas and questions.

    In Jesus, Steve


Comments are currently closed.

Blog Stats

  • 29,023 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 175 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 175 other followers

